Get Familiar with Three Sets of Codes

You will come across 3 sets of codes that you need to utilize on a regular basis being a medical coder. These are referred to as the diagnostic codes and they develop a consistent vocabulary wherein you tell the reasons of death, illness and injury. This code set was developed by the WHO that is the World Health Organization. There have been many updating on them.
The present code that is in consistent use in United States of America is the ICD-9-CM. It is considered to be the 9th revision of the ICD code. CM is denoted as “clinical modification”. Hence, Clinical Modification is the technical name of this code. The clinical modification is a group of revisions laid down by the National center of Health statistics that is a wing of CMS (Center for Medicare and Medicaid Studies).

There is an enhancement in the number of codes for diagnoses with the help of Clinical Modification. This increase provides medical coders a great deal of work ability and exactness that is pivotal for this occupation. ICD codes are utilized to portray the diagnosis of a doctor and also the condition of the patient. In billing, the medical codes are utilized to ascertain the medical utility. There is a need for coders to ensure that the process that they use for billing makes logic with the laid down diagnostic norms. Taking the example of a strep throat in case other medical coder happens to list a diagnosis for the strep throat to justify an x-ray, there would be a straight away rejection for a claim.

Get Familiar with Three Sets of Codes

Get Familiar with Three Sets of Codes

ICD codes are constantly improved by the NCHS on a consistent basis. An important point in coding is the transformation from ICD-9 CM to ICD-10-CM. ICD-10-CM facilitates more codes and also a great deal of precision in the coding procedure. The complete medical system is all set to transform from ICD-9-CM to ICD-10-CM in the year 2015.
CPT codes are utilized to serve as a documentation of most of the medical processes that take place in the office of a physician. The maintenance and publication of this code is done by the AMA that is the American Medical Association. AMA has the copyright of these codes and these are revised on a yearly basis. The CPT codes have a 5 digit numeric code and are segregated into 3 parts. The first part is frequently used and has 6 ranges. In these 6 ranges there are 6 main fields. These fields are namely, Surgery, Pathology, medicine, evaluation, Anesthesia and Radiology. The 2nd part of CPT codes is about the estimation of performance and also the evaluation results of radiology and laboratory tests. The 5 digit codes that are alphanumeric are made inclusive at the end of a Category I CPT code with a hyphen.

The codes that fall in the Category II are non-compulsory and these may not be utilized alternatively to Category I codes. These codes are beneficial to other health care experts and doctors. The American Medical Association maintains that the Category II codes will greatly lessen the departmental load or strain on the offices of physicians by facilitating them with more precise input.

The 3rd division of CPT codes refers to the latest medical technology. You need to spend ample time with the first two divisions of coding being a medical coder. Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System is the type of code that is based on the CPT codes. The HCPCS codes refer to the services, equipment and processes that do not come under CPT codes. HCPCS is known as the official code set for outpatient hospital care, Medicaid, Medicare and other services. This is one of the most pivotal codes that a medical coder can utilize.

Get Familiar with Three Sets of Codes
Article Name
Get Familiar with Three Sets of Codes
You will come across 3 sets of codes that you need to utilize on a regular basis being a medical coder
Publisher Name
Publisher Logo

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)
Our Reader Score
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply